top of page

Contemporary  Music Composer

Ars Nova by Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra - American Mavericks on arirang TV


MONTA for contrabass solo and ensemble 

Commissioned work by Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra for the Ars Nova of SPO


Sejong Chamber Hall

Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra

Dong-Hyuck Ahn, cb solo

Soo-yeoul Choi, cond.

Performance American Mavericks - Ars Nova The Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra is the oldest national symphony orchestra in Korea, and they bring the most challenging contemporary works to the public through their innovative ″Ars Nova″ series directed by composer Chin Un-suk. Ars nova, the ″new art″ or ″new technique,″ refers to a musical style that flourished in France between the 14th and 15th century. This particular concert, conducted by Choi Soo-yeoul, is comprised of American contemporary pieces, including ″Living Room Music″ by John Cage, which tells that everything found in a living room of a typical house can be a musical instrument, Elliott Carter′s virtuosic piece ″Woodwind Quintet″ as well as ″Monta″ by promising Korean composer Park Myung-hoon. The Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra encourages people to open their ears and get ready to accept a new kind of sounds to enjoy the concert′s surprises.


아메리칸 매버릭스- 아르스 노바 서울시립교향악단의 진은숙 상임 작곡가가 매년 기획하는 ′아르스 노바′ 시리즈는 다채로우면서도 실험적인 현대음악을 선보여 ′활기차고 매력적인 클래식 공연′으로 사랑받고 있다. 아르스 노바는 새로운 기법, 새로운 예술이라는 의미를 가지고 있는데 서양 고전음악은 물론 동시대 창작곡을 소개하여 창의적인 젊은 작곡가들을 발굴 육성하고 있다. 서울시향 최수열 부지휘자가 이끄는 이번 ′아르스 노바 체임버 공연-아메리칸 매버릭스′에서는 신선하면서 색다른 미국의 실험적 음악을 만날 수 있다. 거실에 있는 모든 것들이 음악이 된다는 독창적 작곡가 존 케이지의 ′거실 음악′을 비롯해 수준 높은 기교를 펼치는 엘리엇 카터의 ′목관 오중주′, 거기에 한국의 신예 작곡가 박명훈이 선사하는 ′몽타′가 관객을 만난다. 그동안 접하기 힘들었던 다양한 현대음악을 수준 높은 서울시향의 연주로 펼쳐진다. 색다른 기법으로 즐거움을 유도하는 미국의 현대음악은 관객에게 새로운 시각을 열어준다.

© 2015 myunghoonpark

bottom of page